Five Events that Have Shaped My Life

  1. Getting fired from Red Robin.
    1. I was fired from Red Robin one morning after missing three shifts in a row.
    2. This event really made it hard to think of myself as a complete person. I really think now that I’m stronger because I know not to let the place I work define me. I know how to pick myself back up and invest myself in other things so that my identity stays intact even if I lose my job. I know now to take my commitments seriously
  2. Being let go from student government
    1. I was let go from student government when they found out that I had failing grades.
    2. I was destroyed by this event because of the embarrassment that went with losing my position. I know now to take my studies and my commitments seriously
  3. Graduating college
    1. I graduated college in 2014 with a degree in entrepreneurship management
    2. I always look back on this experience as proof that I am capable, smart, and that I have value
  4. The first time I heard voices
    1. I heard voices after taking too much focalin for too many days in a row
    2. I know now not to mess with drugs and to ignore the voices. I also know to be careful with my mind
  5. When I tried to commit suicide
    1. I tried to commit suicide by overdosing on Benadryl
    2. I now know that my life is worth it and that I’ve experienced the lowest point in my life already.
Leave a Reply

