Free will

I don’t want to write but I have to. So I guess I’ll talk about free will. I talked to my coworker today and he thinks that free will does not exist. He basically thinks that all decisions are an illusion because our past influences determine what we will and will not do. He suggested that I check out the lecture by Sam Harris on free will. So I did. Sam Harris is blowing my mind. He basically thinks that any idea of free will is not valid. He says that even murderers’ actions can be explained by taking into account all the influences that led up to the murder. Any action is the result of many causes that cannot all be accounted for, not the result of our choosing.

Leave a Reply

