Diet Mountain Dew Again

Hello my fun-loving bipeds,

Welcome to another episode of Marcus Brain Dumps -the blog in which I humiliate myself by spewing out all the thoughts I’m having at the time of writing. This is an exercise is honesty. Sometimes it’s going to be mundane. Sometimes I’m going to admit things that would kill my grandma if she heard them. So sit back and enjoy the show.

Today is another day on which I broke my rule of buying soda. I’m not supposed to buy soda, especially caffeinated soda. I justified it today by saying that I would only use the spare change that I had in my car to buy the soda. And use it I did. I’m almost tired of writing about this since I already wrote about this yesterday, but I’ll do my best to tell you why it’s important that I write about it again today.

One of the reasons I’m not supposed to buy soda is that I want to save enough money to skip work for 4 months while I’m in school. If you read my post yesterday, you already know this. I’m not spending a lot of money each day that I buy soda, but it adds up. If spent a dollar per day on soda from now until the time my semester begins in January, I will have spent 98 dollars. That’s a week’s worth of spending money and I need all the money I can get.

The more pressing issue is the effect that caffeine has on my body. Research shows that caffeine causes your body to release cortisol, the stress hormone. Too much cortisol can result in decrease testosterone production and weight gain. Yuck! Caffeine also prevents me from getting a good night’s sleep. Some people can deal with it. I canNOT. I’ve fallen asleep at my at work after nights like these.

So I’m writing again about this topic because it is an important habit to break and writing about it helps me to think through the reasons why I should break this habit. But all this self-study is useless unless I come up with an action plan that helps me to break this habit. According to The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg (and I’m paraphrasing here) old habits are broken when a new routine replaces an old routine in the habit loop. Now, the habit loop is a three-part process that starts with a cue, goes to a routine of some sort, and ends with a reward. So replacing the routine part of the habit loop is the key to breaking old habits.

I will use water to satisfy my urge to drink something. I often feel tired in the middle of the day and seek a caffeinated soda to pep me up. I will simply drink cold water to wake myself up. I’ll be facing the same cue, being tired, and take on a new routine, drinking water. I also feel bored during the day and that’s also a cue for me to get caffeinated with soda. I will just replace this reading . . . Yes I have a lot of down time at work.

So there you have it. My new plan. Ahhhh my life is going to get so much better. And I’m serious.

As always, thank you for reading.

Marcus

Leave a Reply

