Modafinil

Hello you juggernauts of jive,

Welcome to another episode of Marcus Brain Dumps. In this episode, I will be talking about my first experience with modafinil, which happened today of all day. Apropo.

I was on my way home from work when I remembered that I had a package waiting for me at the post office. Ever since I had received the notice from the post office, I had been hoping it was the modafinil that I ordered. I ordered it online from the UK and it took a while to get here. So I was really excited when I found out that I had a package.

I got to the post office and opened the package to find 3 strips of pills in metallic foil wrapping. I was excited. I stopped at a gas station, bought water, and promptly popped the pill into my hungry pill hole. All I had to do was wait.

I got home with some time to kill before drum practice so I decided to watch How I Met Your Mother for about 20 minutes while I waited for practice and for the pills to kick in. When drum practice rolled around, nothing had happened -no head change or anything. I sat on my drum throne, questioning whether I was feeling the effects or not. Unable to read myself properly considering a possible placebo effect, I started to play. I immediately noticed that I was having way more fun that usual. I was excited to play, like I hadn’t played for a month. The music was excreted from my musical asshole in a most jovial way. I could even play a groove that had been giving me trouble up till yesterday. Things were good. I didn’t feel any more concentrated or focused. I did feel an extra awareness of my surroundings, though, however minutely it might’ve been. I finished messing around slash warming up and started to practice doubles in my left hand. Things went quiet in my drum booth except for frequent bursts of three on the snare drum. After an hour had passed, I noticed that I wasn’t in any special mood anymore. I was no longer feeling the elation that I had felt just an hour before. No more playfulness or anything. I guess it just wore off. Bummer.

So that’s what it was like. A mild feeling of playfulness and cheerfulness with an extra awareness of my surroundings. . .

I’m not satisfied at all. It was a waste of money. Haha

Marcus

Leave a Reply

