Sad Facebook

Hello, you highly effective people,

Welcome to another edition of Marcus Brain Dumps.

I’ll guess I’ll just talk about Facebook

I woke up at 5:30 and immediately jumped on Facebook. You know, it’s funny how Facebook really wakes me up in the morning. It get really excited to see if anyone has liked or shared any of my posts. . . . I get downtrodden if no one has. Either way, it really wakes me up, which is kind of sad. I’m so emotionally dependent on Facebook that I look to it for entertainment, news, and validation. Looking to it for validation is the worst part. I really wish I wasn’t so dependent on it. I sometimes fantasize about what my life would be like without social media. . . I dream of becoming hyper-focused on improving my life and feeling like nothing has a stranglehold on my attention or emotions. I dream of becoming the revered ascetic that only focuses on important things like drumming and reading and business. I guess that would be my ideal situation. . . But I have a certain flaw that prevents me from taking the leap and deleting my social media accounts forever, especially Facebook. See, I’m terrible with people. I know you’re thinking, “Nooooo . . . you, Marcus? But you’re so friendly in your WordPress posts. I couldn’t imagine that you have trouble dealing with people.” I wish I could say you were right, but no, you’re wrong, I’m about a good with people as refried beans are. I coming along sometimes, but I’m never the main attraction and sometimes I’m really cheesy. haha Terrible! See what I mean? And sometimes your stomach hurts when you have too much of me. I know what you’re thinking, “Why is this guy so depressing? Geez I wanted to have some fun reading a blog post tonight, not watch some loser compare himself to Mexican side dishes.” But there’s a point! I’m getting to it. See when you’re not good with people, you hang on to every bit of social interaction you can get even if you know it’s not going to turn out great. And you do this because, if you don’t, you’ll end up alone and creepy. You have to try is what I’m saying and for some people, it’s hard. So, for those of us who are on the verge of being forever alone, Facebook is proof that you don’t not have any friends. People look at your profile “Eh, he’s got 607 Facebook friends, he can’t be a total loser.” HAHAAAAAA i got you, I’m sad inside.

Leave a Reply

