Third Eye Blind Forever

Hola Beautiful Brain Dumpers,

Twenty years ago today, Third Eye Blind released their debut album and the best mother fucking record of all time. Not joking. Look it up. This band came to me right after my parents got divorced. The ugly bankruptcy and custody battles and other proceedings left me and my siblings in a new city and a new school and a new family. Everything was strange but the poppy sound of this band became instantly familiar. Accessible like no other, they hooked me in like they hooked everyone in during the late nineties. I was also into the Backstreet Boys but thank god they sucked more than this band. Anyways. When other people stopped listening to them, I just kind of kept going. The lyrics were haunting and I just couldn’t get them out of my fucking head. Nor did I want to.  “I wish you would step back from that ledge my friend. You could cut ties with all the lies that you’ve been livin’ in.” Sweet sweet mind rape. . . They raped me all the way through high school and stuck with me while I considered suicide. After listening to Motorcycle Driveby and screaming, “I’ve never been so alone and I’ve, I’ve never been so alive” I felt wiped clean, reacquainted with the simple and only truth that I am alive. I liked it, being a clean slate with all possibilities in front of me . . . Thousands of replays later. I’m stilling blasting their songs on the freeway, finding even more meaning in their lyrics. They’ve taught me that there’s nothing wrong if I can’t find a point to life (Another Life by Third Eye Blind).  But anyways, Happy 20th Birthday, Third Eye Blind.

Leave a Reply

