Ahoy, Brain Dumpers,

I want to talk about drum practice. Drum practice is not going well. I keep cutting my practice time short because I keep telling myself that I need to study. Really, I do, but I could use my allotted study time better so that I maximize my time better when I’m actually supposed to study. I’m not concentrating hard enough during my normal study time.

I’m going to look up ways to study better. BRB

How to Study

  1. Use the Pomodoro Technique
    1. Study in 25-minute intervals with
    2. 5-minute break in between each interval
    3. 30-minute break every 90 minutes
      1. Meditate for 5 minutes at each of these long breaks
    4. Remove all distractions
      1. Turn off social media and distracting websites
        1. Use an app like the Self-Control MacBook app to block certain websites for an allotted block of time
      2. Turn off all notifications on your phone and computer
      3. Lock the doors
      4. No texting and no phone calls
      5. No eating or smoking except at breaks
    5. Listen to music
      1. Something calm and instrumental like this: Beautiful Mind: Best Study Music for Concentration and Better Learning – 1 Hour Music
    6. Meditate
      1. Again, meditate for 5 minutes at each long break
      2. Listen to calming instrumental music while you count breaths
    7. Single task
      1. Focus on doing one thing at a time
    8. Eat brain food
      1. Foods that release glucose slowly like complex carbs from legumes, nuts
      2. Lower your glycemic index, this can be accomplished by restricting your carb intake to the slow-release carb sources mentioned above
      3. Omega-3 fatty acids like from fish, walnuts, and flaxseed
      4. Food with tyrosine
        1. Tyrosine is an amino acid that makes you feel energized
        2. Tyrosine can be found in meat, dairy products, and eggs
      5. Remember your motivation
        1. Think about your long-term goal for studying and remind yourself before every study session
Leave a Reply

